Summary of the Federal Court of Appeal’s decision in Apotex Inc. v. Minister of Health and Attorney General of Canada, and Information Commissioner of Canada

Background: See section “Challenging the Information Commissioner’s participation in court proceedings”  of the Commissioner’s 2016-2017 Annual Report, and section “Reversing the burden in third party applications” of the Commissioner’s 2015-2016 Annual Report. 

On July 20, 2017, the Federal Court of Appeal dismissed Apotex’s appeal of a decision of a Judge of the Federal Court, which had upheld the decision of the Prothonotary to add the Commissioner as a party to Apotex’s three applications for judicial review against Health Canada under section 44 of the Act.  Paragraph 42(1)(c) of the Act allows the Commissioner to, with leave of the Court, appear as a party to any judicial review proceeding under the Act.  The Federal Court of Appeal confirmed that the criterion to be applied in deciding whether to add the Commissioner as a party to judicial review proceedings under the Act is: whether she would be of assistance to the Court. 

The Federal Court of Appeal rejected Apotex’s argument that paragraph 42(1)(c) of the Act required the Commissioner to demonstrate that she is a necessary party in accordance with Rule 104 of the Federal Courts Rules.  The Federal Court of Appeal found that the necessity test “would undermine the intent of paragraph 42(1)(c) of the Act, which grants the Commissioner the clear possibility of appearing as a party, with leave of the court, in judicial review proceedings before the Federal Court.”    

The Federal Court of Appeal found no error in the Federal Court’s application of the criterion of assistance, which is to be determined on a case-by-case basis.  The Federal Court of Appeal noted examples of where the Federal Court had previously been satisfied that the Commissioner met this test, which include: where the Commissioner would provide a distinct point of view on a motion for a confidentiality order, and where the Commissioner had investigated the relevant complaint and the Commissioner would provide knowledge and expertise in relation to the Act, its jurisprudence, and the relevant legal issue. 

The Federal Court of Appeal noted the following submissions that had been made by the Commissioner in support of her motion before the Prothonotary of the Federal Court: (1) the Commissioner’s concern that Apotex’s stated intention to seek to reverse the order of evidence in the proceedings could reverse the legal burden of proof; (2) the Commissioner’s expertise in relation to the Act; and, (3) the Commissioner’s intention to further the Court’s considerations of requesters’ rights, given that no requestor is a party to the proceedings.  Accordingly, the Federal Court of Appeal found that there was a sufficient basis on which the Judge of the Federal Court could have concluded that Prothonotary committed no reviewable error in granting the Commissioner’s motion to be added as a party.  Apotex’s appeal was thus dismissed, with costs.

Résumé de la décision de la Cour d’appel fédérale dans Apotex inc. c. Ministre de la Santé et Procureur général du Canada, et commissaire à l’information du Canada

Contexte: Veuillez consulter la section « Contestations quant à l’ajout de la commissaire à l’information comme partie aux instances » du rapport annuel 2016-2017 de la commissaire et à la section « Inverser le fardeau dans les demandes de tiers » du rapport annuel 2015-2016 de la commissaire.

Le 20 juillet 2017, la Cour d’appel fédérale a rejeté l’appel déposé par Apotex relativement à une décision d’un juge de la Cour fédérale, qui a maintenu la décision du protonotaire d’ajouter la commissaire comme partie aux trois demandes de contrôle judiciaire d’Apotex contre Santé Canada en vertu de l’article 44 de la Loi. L’alinéa 42(1)(c) de la Loi permet à la commissaire de comparaître, avec l’autorisation de la Cour, comme partie à n’importe quelle instance de contrôle judiciaire en vertu de la Loi. La Cour d’appel fédérale a confirmé que le critère applicable pour déterminer si la commissaire peut être ajouté comme partie à une instance de contrôle judiciaire en vertu de la loi est : si elle peut prêter assistance à la Cour.

La Cour d’appel fédérale a rejeté l’argument d’Apotex à l’effet que l’alinéa 42(1)(c) de la Loi exigeait que la commissaire démontre qu’elle est une partie dont la présence est nécessaire en vertu du Règlement 104 des Règles des Cours fédérales. La Cour d’appel fédérale a tranché que le critère de nécessité irait à l’encontre de l’intention de l’alinéa 42(1)(c) de la Loi, qui offre à la commissaire la possibilité de comparaître comme partie à une instance de contrôle judiciaire devant la Cour fédérale.

La Cour d’appel fédérale n’a trouvé aucune erreur dans l’application du critère de prêter assistance par la Cour fédérale, qui est évalué au cas par cas. La Cour d’appel fédérale a mentionné des exemples de situations où la Cour fédérale s’est dite satisfaite que ce critère avait été rencontré par la commissaire, notamment : lorsque la commissaire pouvait présenter une opinion distincte sur une requête de confidentialité, et lorsque la commissaire a enquêté sur une plainte et qu’elle pouvait transmettre ses connaissances et son expertise eu égard à la Loi, à la jurisprudence, et aux enjeux juridiques impliqués.

La Cour d’appel fédérale a noté les points suivants qui ont été soumis par la commissaire en lien avec la requête déposée devant le Protonotaire de la Cour fédérale : (1) la préoccupation de la commissaire à l’effet que l’intention d’Apotex de demander d’inverser l’ordre de présentation de la preuve dans le cadre des procédures de contrôle judiciaire pourrait résulter en un renversement du fardeau de la preuve; (2) l’expertise de la commissaire eu égard à la Loi; et (3) l’intention de la commissaire de demander à la Cour de prendre en compte les considérations relatives aux droits des demandeurs, étant donné qu’aucun demandeur n’est une partie du recours. De plus, la Cour d’appel fédérale a jugé que le Juge de la Cour fédérale avait un fondement suffisant pour conclure que le protonotaire n’a commis aucune erreur susceptible de révision en autorisant la requête de la commissaire d’être ajoutée comme partie. L’appel d’Apotex a donc été rejetée avec dépens.